State Partners

HCAN works with a variety of state partners around the country including those listed below. Our coalition’s state partners were integral to our success in passing the Affordable Care Act in 2010 and continue to be essential in defending, promoting and implementing the law.

Blue Cross Protest in DelawareHCAN’s state partners are permanent progressive organizations that educate and mobilize constituents to take action on important health care issues, that champion consumer rights to counteract corporate influence in politics, and that harness the power of volunteers, individuals with personal health care stories and grassroots community leaders to bring about positive change in Congress and in state legislatures.

ARKANSAS

Arkansas Community Organizations (ACO)

Contact:  Neil Sealy

nsealy@arkansascomm.org  ·  501-376-7151

CALIFORNIA

Health Access California

Contact:  Patrick Romano

Promano@health-access.org  ·  510-873-8787 x110

California Partnership

Contact:  Mari Lopez

Mlopez@communitychange.org  ·  213-369-9460

COLORADO

Colorado Progressive Action

Contact:  Hillary Jorgenson

hillary@coprogressiveaction.org  ·  303-867-0315

CONNECTICUT

Connecticut Citizen Action Group (CCAG)

Contact:  John Murphy

Murphy@ccag.net  ·  860-995-3389

FLORIDA

Organize Now

Contact:  Stephanie Porta

Stephanie@organizenow.org  ·  407-592-4784

Florida Consumer Action Network (FCAN)

Contact:  Tim Heberlein

tim@fcan.org  ·  813-877-6712

ILLINOIS

Citizen Action of Illinois

Contact:  John Gaudette

john@citizenaction-il.org  ·  312-427-2114

MAINE

Maine People’s Alliance (MPA)

Contact:  Jennifer Pirkl

Jennie@mainepeoplesalliance.org  ·  207-797-0967

MICHIGAN

Michigan Citizen Action (MCA)

Contact:  Erin Knott

enkott@micitizenaction.org  ·  269-349-9170

MINNESOTA

Take Action Minnesota

Contact:  Chris Conroy

Chris@takeactionminnesota.org  ·  651-379-0760

MISSOURI

Missouri Progressive Vote Coalition (Pro Vote)

Contact:  Julie Terbrock

Jullie@missouriprovote.org  ·  314-531-2288

Grass Roots Organizing (GRO)

Contact:  Robin Acree

Robin@gromo.org  ·  573-999-1262

MONTANA

Montana Organizing Project

Contact:  Molly Moody

molly@montanaorganizingproject.org  ·  406-529-8497

NEW HAMPSHIRE

New Hampshire Citizens’ Alliance for Action (NHCAA)

Contact:  Sarah Chaisson Warner

swarner@nhcitizensalliance.org  ·  973-643-8800

NEW JERSEY

New Jersey Citizen Action (NJCA)

Contact:  Jeff Brown

Jeff@njcitizenaction.org  ·  609-902-2541

NEW MEXICO

Organizers in the Land of Enchantment (OLE)

Contact:  Matthew Henderson

mhenderson@olenm.org  ·  505-796-6544

NEVADA

Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN)

Contact:  Michael Ginsburg

Mginsburg@planevada.org  ·  702-791-1965

NEW YORK

Citizen Action of New York (CANY)

Contact:  Mary Clark

cabing@citizenactionny.org  ·  607-723-0110

NORTH CAROLINA

Action NC

Contact: Pat McCoy

pat@actionnc.org  ·  919-883-7120

North Carolina Fair Share (NCFS)

Contact:  Lynice Williams

ncfslrw@aol.com  ·  919-786-7474

OHIO

Progress Ohio

Contact:  Denise Gastesi

denise@progressohio.org  ·  614-441-9144

Ohio Communities United

Contact: Christine Kozobarich

christine@ohunited.org  ·  614-456-0060 x 234

OREGON

Oregon Action

Contact:  Riche Rohde

Rich@oregonaction.org  ·  503-282-7266

PENNSYLVANIA

Action United

Contact:  Maryellen Deckard

maryellen@actionunited.org  ·  412-567-7275

RHODE ISLAND

Ocean State Action

Contact:  Kate Brock

info@oceanstateaction.org  ·  401-463-5368

TEXAS

Texas Organizing Project

Contact:  Ginny Goldman

ggoldman@organizetexas.org  ·  713-419-2460

VIRGINIA

Virginia Organizing

Contact:  Brian Johns

bjohns@virginia-organizing.org  ·  276-619-1920

WASHINGTON

Washington Community Action Network! (WACAN!)

Contact:  Rachel Berkson

Rachel@washingtoncan.org  ·  206-389-0050

WISCONSIN

Citizen Action of Wisconsin

Contact:  Robert Kraig

Robert.kraig@citizenactionwi.org  ·  414-671-9760

WEST VIRGINIA

West Virginia Citizen Action Group (WVCAG)

Contact:  Gary Zuckett

gary@wvcag.org  ·  304-346-5891